Angler with Papaya-Salsa

I seem to have been preoccupied with some pretty heavy stuff this weekend, seeing that I sleep as if I were in a coma and wake-up feeling weighed down. I’ve tried to jot down some of the thoughts that flow through my head before I go to sleep, but since I also have work to do I don’t think it’s an appropriate time to get into that. Instead, I’d like to go the opposite way and lighten my mood with this very scrumptious recipe, the first of my series of yummy stuff to eat.

I’d like to title this “Asian temptation“. It’s a fully vegetarian meal, for those who eat fish, and very flexible. What you need as ingredients are the following:

  • 1 Papaya
  • 2 tbs sesame oil (preferably cold-pressed, i.e. colorless)
  • 4 tbs vegetable oil
  • 2 tbs light soy sauce (the dark kind turns everything the same color)
  • 7 tbs lime juice (approximately 2 limes)
  • 1 red chilli pepper
  • 2 scallions
  • Sugar and black pepper
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 piece of ginger (about the size of a walnut)
  • 500g Angler (also called sea-devil or frog-fish)

Preparation:

  1. Cut the papaya in half and remove the pits with a small spoon. Peel off the flesh of the fruit and cut it into small dices (be careful not to turn it into mush).
  2. Mix the dressing of sesame oil, 2 tbs vegetable oil, soy sauce and 6 tbs lime juice. Cut the chili pepper and scallions in fine rings and add with the papaya to the dressing. Season to taste with sugar and pepper.
  3. Peel and dice the garlic and ginger. Cut the angler in slices of about 3 cm thickness. Heat up the rest of the vegetable oil in a pan and roast the fish gently. Turn after ca. 3 minutes and add garlic, ginger and some pepper. Sprinkle the fish with the rest of lime juice and cook to a finish while turning over several times.

Tadaa! All there is left to do is serve the fish on a plate, covered with papaya-salsa. As a side dish I recommend basmati rice, which can be spiced up with some cardamom and turmeric for a nice golden color. If you replace the fish by a slab of tofu, this also makes for a nice vegan-friendly dish. Without the side dish it’s also compatible with a low-carb diet.

Some final tips: try replacing the papaya with mango. I’ve tried it and thought it was really good. Besides, mangos are easier to find. Also, you can use any type of white fish, since angler is pretty expensive. I wouldn’t try it with any kind of strong-tasting fish though, like salmon or tuna. I personally really don’t like fish or seafood and avoid them at all costs. But since it’s healthy, I try to eat it from time to time, and this sauce does the trick. I also think it would taste good with chicken. As for the fruit, I recommend choosing a ripe and soft papaya, as the sweetness blends nicely with the fish.

Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

