Self-Eulogy

Now don’t get frightened by the title, dear people. I am in a very good mood. The weather is sunny, I spent some very nice time with my loved one, some very fun time with my friends and got good work done in the process of learning for upcoming exams. So maybe it’s the peaceful mood, or maybe it’s because I’m watching too much Dexter, but today’s quote is of a macabre nature. I am aware, because of personal experience, that death is a constant companion of life – and sometimes it doesn’t scare me to think about it. When I die, which probably won’t be so soon, I hope someone remembers my website and comes back to read this at my funeral. It is a very lovely text I picked up while watching Desperate Housewives, although they used a modified (shortened) version. This is a popular poem, largely considered to be written by Mary Elizabeth Frye (1905-2004), but of disputed origin. You can find many versions, of which the earlier one (printed on postcards and prefered by me) goes like this:

Do not stand at my grave and weep;
I am not there. I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow,
I am the diamond glints on snow.
I am the sunlight on ripened grain,
I am the gentle autumn rain.
When you awaken in the morning’s hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circled flight.
I am the soft stars that shine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry;
I am not there. I did not die.

I like the message that when you’re dead you’re not quite gone. Although I don’t believe in heaven or hell I believe you can live on in the memories of those who were close to you in life. And I wouldn’t want them to feel left alone once I’m gone, so maybe this will let them think that they can find me anywhere they need to. And since I feel a strong connection to nature, I like the way this poem is spirited without being religious. I just hope it’s not worn out until then.

One thought on “Self-Eulogy

  1. wow, thanks for finding that poem and posting it!
    a poem i think is really great for a eulogy is mondnacht by eichendorff. i know that’s not very original, but that poem is just pure beauty and the ending is quite hopeful i think.

Leave a Reply

