Gluttony

Gluttony (Latin, gula)

Gluttony is the over-indulgence and over-consumption of anything to the point of waste. In the Christian religions, it is considered a sin because of the excessive desire for food. Medieval church leaders took a more expansive view of gluttony, arguing that it could also include an obsessive anticipation of meals, and the constant eating of delicacies and excessively costly foods.

Holy cow, does this one fit me. I have such a desire for yummys that hardly anything else tops it. And when I know I’m getting some, I totally obsessively anticipate. Actually, I’m drooling right now just thinking about it, and I just ate.

You can’t really count me in on the over-indulgence or over-consumption though – at least not by the western standard. Of course, in comparison to, say, Africa, we’re all pigs who can’t get enough stuffed into their never-ending pie-holes. But I am not one to waste. In fact, I have a very hard time throwing away food. That’s how it happens that I have eaten many things that were a different color than when they started out, or hairier. But it’s also the reason I don’t keep many “delicacies” around the house – to stop myself from making them vanish. Into thin air. Within seconds. Yes, I’m thinking of Ben & Jerry’s right now. But it also works for Indian food.

I love fine dinery (after all, I spent 10 years in France) just as much as the really bad, sugary, chemically enhanced stuff (hello USA!). But at least I know how to appreciate them both to their full value. I attach so much importance to food, really, that it’s the best way to show affection. Which is where I bring back out my yiddish side. Is anyone familiar with sitting Shiva? Or has watched Weeds recently? Maybe you’re more familiar with Grey’s Anatomy, the part where Izzy is feeling really bad because she lost a loved one, and the only way Christina (who is jewish) knows how to cope is to bring her food? That’s me. If I ever sink to an all time low, where I’m crawled up in ball on the floor and don’t speak? Well then don’t ask me questions. Don’t enquire how I feel. Bring me food. Then you’ll be my best friend.

Leave a Reply

