Pride

Pride (Latin, superbia)

In almost every list pride (or hubris or vanity) is considered the original and most serious of the seven deadly sins, and indeed the ultimate source from which the others arise. It is identified as a desire to be more important or attractive than others, failing to give compliments to others though they may be deserving of them, and excessive love of self. Vanity and narcissism are prime examples of this sin.

Well this just might be a problem with our whole society then. Is pride even still considered a sin? Isn’t it even promoted in most first world countries? Everyone is trimmed and formed and pushed to be more important or attractive than others. For example: the people who passed the test with me today. Oh, university, how I have missed thou. The undeniable chance to feel like a total outcast, because the others are all portraying an image of designer fashion, success, loudness, and general superiority they would like to believe they have. Ah, the vanity. No, there is no resentment or bitterness here. Just please don’t force me to interact with these shallow people. Would they pay compliments to others, just because the other deserves it? Umm, no. But they would if they think it makes them look better. Have you ever had to deal with real narcissists? Like clinically relevant narcissists? I have. They are the total pain in the ass. By definition.

Do they carry an excessive love to their selves? Well, yeah. But then, that would probably be my mistake. See, I quite dumbly chose a university – an elite university – known for it’s business majors. Which is, like, the opposite of social and ethical criteria. And sadly, yes, I too have to pass this exam (which is considered the UTMOST IMPORTANT, or muy importante, if you will, at this school) even though I know that I’m never going to use this stuff ever again in my entire life. Ever. And I know it sounds like I’m holding a grudge here and trying to make myself sound better than the others, but that’s not my point. We have different goals and values, I get that. But that doesn’t change the fact that on the “humility” score of a personality test we took in the first semester, I was TWO WHOLE standard deviations over the rest of my class. Which, for people who didn’t have to burden their lives with statistics, means that I’m more modest than 95,4 % of the others. Which makes them look pretty arrogant. So what do I have to say about pride? Well, I at least know one person who is proud of me today. Because I totally nailed that insignificant, annoying exam. HA!

Leave a Reply

