Poetry slam comming right atcha

Woah, what was going on yesterday? The BF is apparently a total hit, because I got 50 visitors in one day! That almost broke the record! Hey, audience out there: why don’t you comment, so I know who I’m talking to? I’m open for any feedback! But in any case: thanks for stopping by.

On a completely different topic: I saw this video on fem.men.ist, who found it via Uncensored Feminista, who in turn re-blogged this from Feministing (are you still following? Can you spell viral video?). Anyway, I thought it was really inspiring, even though my first thought was kinda: whoa! Angry black woman indeed! (And I’d like to point out that I mean that not at all in a racist way, I actually read “the angry black woman“). So yes, she does talk kinda loud, and fast, but it’s a poetry slam so it all has a certain rhythmic to it, and rhymes, and most important of all: she’s making a point. Please listen carefully – but don’t turn up the volume. She doesn’t say anything in the first 10 seconds, and I made the mistake of blowing my ears off.

I introduce to you: Sonya “The Drama” Boom Renee, a finalist in the 2006 Individual World Poetry Slam Finals.

Leave a Reply

