Welcome to Americana

Mixed emotions after my last exam of this semester is finally over. Grateful I’m done and can go a while without learning again, disappointed and frustrated of my grades. Head: completely empty. To demonstrate: a quote-mix of The Offspring’s 1998 album.

When we were young the future was so bright / The old neighborhood was so alive
And every kid on the whole damn street / Was gonna make it big and not be beat
Chances thrown / Nothing’s free / Longing for what used to be

Feelings / Nothing more than feelings / Trying to forget my / Feelings of hate
Imagine / Beating on your face / Trying to forget my / Feelings of hate
Feelings / For all my life I’ll feel it / I wish I’d never met you / You’ll make me sick again
Feelings, oh oh feelings / Of hate on my mind
Feelings like I never liked you  / Feelings like I want to kill you / Live in my heart
Feelings like I wanna deck you / Feelings like I’ve gotta get you / Out of my life

Maybe life is like a ride on a freeway / Dodging bullets while you’re trying to find your way
Everyone’s around but no one does a damn thing / It brings me down, but I won’t let them
If I seem bleak, well you’d be correct/ And if I don’t speak, it’s cause I get disconnected
But I won’t be burned by the reflection / Of the fire in your eyes / As you’re staring at the sun
When I ran I didn’t feel like a runaway / When I escaped I didn’t feel like I got away
There’s more to living than only surviving / Maybe I’m not there, but I’m still trying

Leave a Reply

