Off the top of my head

Ever since I was a little girl, I dreamed of a machine that could read your thoughts and put them straight to paper. I got this idea because often, at night when I’m lying in bed waiting to fall asleep, I get the greatest ideas. Not only am I more creative, but I’m more articulate as well. When I get an idea for a post, for example, I seem to be able to phrase what I want to say much better. But if I get up and try to write it down, I lose my train of thought, the flow is gone, and it sounds off. Or I’m too sleepy and cozy to get up in the first place. And the stuff I come up with during the day isn’t as good, even if I try to remember what I was thinking about the night before. That’s why I want a mind-reading machine. Imagine the stories that were lost!

Anyway, I came up with an idea for a post yesterday evening, as I let my mind wander. It’s short and simple and can be shared – three good things about a post. Plus, it could be made into a series. Here’s the idea: I list my (momentary) favorite five of a certain category. Without over-thinking it. Today: top 5 media. Go!

  1. Movie: American Beauty
  2. TV show: How I Met Your Mother
  3. Book: Atonement (Ian McEwan)
  4. Album: Zeitgeist (Smashing Pumpkins)
  5. Miscellaneous – can’t decide which to put: radio (Das Ding) or print (Zeit Campus). The four first are more important…

Well, that’s all folks. Tune in some other time for more non-explained listings.

One thought on “Off the top of my head

  1. hmmmm, can i do this? list only one? what are you asking of me?

    1. movie: american beauty and fight club
    2. tv show: the l-word and six feet under
    3. book: lolita (vladimir nabokov) and middlesex (jeffrey eugenides)
    4. album: whatever people say i am (that’s what i’m not) (arctic monkeys) and our earthly pleasures (maximo park)
    5. print: in style and nme

    radio i don’t care about and never listen to. i would like to add:

    6. reality /unscripted tv: america’s next top model (and no other)

Leave a Reply

