…and just like that, I memed myself

A while back I read this post on dooce.com about a meme going around her friends on facebook. I thought her answers were insightful and entertaining at the same time, a writing style I aim to achieve here as well. And since I think my latest posts could use some more lightness, a game of Q & A might do just the trick. Here it is, a questionnaire about me and The BF:

What are your middle names?
My middle name is Alexandra. He doesn’t have one… I think… anyway if he does, I don’t know it.

How long have you been together?
Two years, three weeks, two days (yes, I looked on the calendar to check).

How long did you know each other before you started dating?
Well I first noticed him at a party in December and we got together in February. He had already noticed me in class way before that though. I was oblivious to the fact that we “knew” each other before, although you can’t really call that knowing someone. We really got to know each other like in the few weeks before the “official” begin of our relationship.

Who asked whom out?
I talked to him first, I invited him first, I initiated contact first. *ducks to avoid the stones being thrown*

How old are each of you?
I just turned 24 in January, he’ll be 27 in April. I like to tease him about the fact that I’m keeping him young, because he considers himself to have the soul of an old man.

Whose siblings do you see the most?
Hmm. Neither, really. I think I’ve met his brother twice… He might have met my sister more often, but they don’t really like to interact. Besides, she lives 600km away. His brother is in the same town and I haven’t seen him more – that says something too…

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?
There’s nothing signifying an oncoming breakup, but there is the occasional stress. Only this would be too personal to discuss online.

Did you go to the same school?
We’re both currently attending the same university, in the same major, only two semesters apart. Before that we were in whole different places.

Are you from the same home town?
No way. My home town is over 6.300 km away from his (according to google earth).

Who is smarter?
Ohoh, tricky question. We’ve talked about this a few times – mainly because each one thinks the other one is smarter. He’s smarter in politics, practical things, analyses and analogies. I’m smarter in cultural references, trivia, maybe basic knowledge and stuff. Basically, I think he has more fluid intelligence and I have more crystalline intelligence. The downside is that you can only increase the latter.

Who is the most sensitive?
Ahem. Next question.

Where do you eat out most as a couple?
We actually don’t eat out as much as I’d like to, but when we do it’s usually at the Café Vienna. It’s cheap and gritty.

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?
Port de Pollensa, Mallorca, Spain.

Who has the craziest exes?
I won’t go into the details, but definitely his.

Who has the worst temper?
You would think I could “win” this one straight off the bat, but it actually doesn’t apply in our couple. None of us has gotten a temper so far. I’ve screamed and even thrown things before when I got angry, and I’ve heard him get loud and angry before too, but never at each other. When it’s about us, the rational side of our brains take over. We talk, without raising our voice, or go mute. That’s it. There just doesn’t seem to be a point in doing anything else.

Who does the cooking?
I cook for myself, he goes to the cafeteria, because he says he can’t cook. But he has made me meals before, just as I have for him. When we eat together we usually cook together, too.

Who is the neat-freak?
Guilty as charged.

Who is more stubborn?
We both are. Never had a fight off to see who would win, though.

Who hogs the bed?
Okay, well this time it’s him. With the blankets, too. I might have the nasty habit of rummaging around alot before I get settled, but once I’m there that’s it. I wake up exactly the same. Sure, he might need more space because he’s bigger, but still – when he’s asleep he wouldn’t even notice if he rolled right over me.

Who wakes up earlier?
Definitely him. He just always has so much to do. And I’m a sleepy head.

Where was your first date?
Well we didn’t really have a first date… or any real “date”, for that matter…

Who is more jealous?
Again I would have to say both, although I might be leaning a little towards him… I don’t think he would act on it, and I know I wouldn’t, but we sure are quick to ask questions.

How long did it take to get serious?
Practically instantly. From the beginning it was clear that we both wanted a relationship with each other, not a fling.

Who eats more?
Depends on how you define that. I surely snack more, so I eat more often. But on the quantity of one meal, he wins hands down. He’s much faster to finish, too.

Who does the laundry?
To each his own.

Who’s better with the computer?
He has a Mac, I have a PC. There really is no comparing here. Although he did study computer sciences for a while… so when there’s a bug, or anything soft- or hard-drive-wise, it’d probably go to him. But I’m more internet-savvy.

Who drives when you are together?
When we’re in Germany, he does, when we’re in France, I do. But it hasn’t happened that often.

One thought on “…and just like that, I memed myself

Leave a Reply

