Don’t see, don’t hear, don’t speak – be happy (and oblivious)

I had a discussion with The BF today about the “purity myth” rampage going on in feminist online communities, which led to a debate about how certain people – any group of people, really – who think they’re right or “know the right path” quickly turn on those who are supposedly wrong, and that this isn’t a behavior that should be encouraged in any way, even if you agree with the groups “right” way. Are you still following? It’s pretty complicated, and went much more in depth than I’d like to render here, but my point is that I went through my saved “blog topics” links in my favorites and deleted many due to the impression of preaching to the converted and/or pointless whining. But there is one topic that remained – and by God I’ll be damned if I censor my every thought now, so yes – despite my ever differentiating screening process, I shall proceed to poke fun at behavior I think is silly. For instance: uptight conservatives.

A while ago, I came across this wonderful device named “ClearPlay“.

ClearPlay is a DVD player that enables your family to enjoy all of the great Hollywood movies you’ve always wanted to watch—without all of the junk you don’t want. The ClearPlay DVD player seamlessly skips and mutes content based on 12 categories that you can set. ClearPlay Filters are hand-crafted by at team of Filter Developers who watch the movie and masterfully select where the player will remove content.

What do these filters look like, you might ask? Why looky here: there are specific settings – and if that’s not clear enough, why don’t you enjoy the exquisite demo on the Welcome page. “Most of the time, you won’t even know what you’ve missed. But you’ll be glad it’s not there” … Sounds like a good motto to live by, doesn’t it?

monkeys

Still, if you can’t picture just what miracles this player accomplishes, let’s look at an example: I’ve written recently about the movie American Gangster, which just happens to be the first one in their film list. Critic Marty Nabhan writes that with the filters, “American Gangster feels surprisingly intact for a gritty movie of this nature”. Funny how I thought it was intact without any filters, being that I rented it knowing that it was a mafia movie about drugs. What’s left, I wonder, when Clear Play removes all this:

Thematic Elements and Related Content in Movie:
Revealing Clothing           Some Suggestive Dialogue
Threatening Dialogue           Intense Action/Adventure
Non-Graphic Injury/Wound           Criminal/Gangster/Mob Themes
Alcohol Consumption           Smoking
Drug Use           Drug References
Bar/Club Environment           Mature Thematic Elements
Intense Thematic Elements           Divorce Topic
Murder Topic           Dysfunctional Relationships

I can’t even remember half of that stuff. Pff, “divorce topic”… ooh, I’m scarred for life, now. Better have it look like the world is a perfect place – until someone snaps and goes haywire because it’s an impossible thing.

2 thoughts on “Don’t see, don’t hear, don’t speak – be happy (and oblivious)

  1. Hey that pic shows the entrance of the “three wise monkeys” pub in Sydney!! I went there =)

Leave a Reply

