Feminist link orgy

Whew, that might get me some interesting Google searches… Anyway, the point of this post is: I am bored out of my mind right now. I would love to write something meaningful and witty and whatnot, but my mind has been completely numbed by the lack of purposeful things to do. Who knew I would be good at having job stuff to do! So besides wasting time and braincells on the internet or with series, interspersed by the occasional read, I wanted to sum up some topics that have been piling up in my “blog topics” folder. Without going into detail, of course, because then I’d just end up copying.

1 – Ohmydollz, as described by Mädechenmannschaft.

This is a game for young impressionable people, where you start out with a doll who has no experience, just 25 dollars and a job as a babysitter. Oh, and all you own is underwear. What a great start! Of course what you want to become is the sexiest, best dressed, best looking doll with a cool apartment and all the furniture to go with it. How do you get that? Seduce men of course! Here is where young girls (it is marketed to kids) can learn how to become proper women. By doing anything to please men, so that they can buy you stuff. Who ever has the most “conquests” wins! All to improve social skills, of course…

2 – Products targeted at women, from the Süddeutsche Zeitung

I read this way before knowing Sarah Haskins “Target: Women” and the hilarious yet infuriating job they do there, but it did open my eyes to how hard it is to come by products that fit needs or are in any way practical and not pink or pastel colored, when it comes to things for women. Which don’t necessarily need to be things just women use, nowadays anything can be marketed at women by being cute and small and pink, even if it’s just a phone or some other thing anyone uses. But maybe I’m getting way out of line here. Maybe I should be happy they’re all thinking “shrink it and pink it” – that way I don’t have to think at all! For instance, why should my sport pants have pockets? I don’t need to store a key – that’s what the man is for! I don’t need freedom of movement – I’m just here to look pretty! Wouldn’t the world be a better place if women like me would just shut up and join the estrogen-laden community…

3 – At your cervix, presented by Feministing

The documentary “At Your Cervix” enters U.S. medical and nursing schools and breaks the silence around unethical ways in which medical and nursing students learn to perform pelvic exams. These practices – which include nursing students being required to perform exams on each other in front of faculty and medical students “practicing” on unconscious, unconsenting patients – lead directly to the reality that most women find pelvic exams to be humiliating and painful. I was simply appalled when I saw the short movie and can only hope that med students in Germany learn otherwise – although I wouldn’t be so sure… And it wouldn’t help the fact that many American and European women are shamed by their own body.

Leave a Reply

